Patient & Visitor Alert: Because flu cases are on the rise, starting February 24, children 12 and younger
will be restricted from visiting hospitals and certain inpatient facilities throughout Carolinas HealthCare System. Learn more.


Carolinas HealthCare System

OB Tour

This class provides information related to pregnancy, hospital admission and stay, allowing time for questions. A tour of CRMC’s Women’s Life Center allows you to become familiar with staff member faces as well as the physical environment, helping you to feel more comfortable when it is time for your childbirth experience.

  • Saturday, March 25, 2017
    • 2pm -4pm
  • Tuesday, May 23, 2017
    • 6pm – 8pm
  • Wednesday, July 19, 2017
    • 6pm – 8pm
  • Monday, September 11, 2017
    • 6pm – 8pm
  • Saturday, November 1, 2017
    • 2pm – 4pm

Kangaroo Kapers:

This class provides children expecting a brother or sister with a positive introduction to the hospital and to what life will be like with a new baby.

Parent(s) remain with their child(ren) throughout the program.

  • Monday, March 6, 2017
    • 6pm – 7pm
  • Saturday, May 13, 2017
    • 10am – 11am
  • Monday, July 24, 2017
    • 6pm – 7pm
  • Saturday, September 16, 2017
    • 10am – 11am 
  • Monday, November 13, 2017
    • 6pm – 7pm

BootCamp for Expectant Dads:

Boot Camp is a program for expectant Dad. It allows man to man discussion with the opportunity to hear experiences and gain insight from recently new fathers and get helpful hints from facilitators. “Veteran” Dads bring their little ones, providing an opportunity to see and hold infants and allows participants to observe dads’ interactions with their babies.

  •  Wednesday May 10, 2017
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 31, 2017
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
  • Thursday, November 9, 2017
    • 6pm – 8:30pm

*(Cost $15.00) 

Expectant Grandparents:

This class provides updated information for grandparents-to be highlighting what’s new in baby care since your children were small. You’ll receive information on how to best help and support the first few weeks after your grandchild is born. There will be a tour of the unit and we’ll discuss changes in maternity and newborn care over the past several years. 

  • Wednesday, May 17, 2017
    • 6pm – 8pm
  • Tuesday, August 8, 2017
    • 6pm – 8pm
  • Tuesday, November 7, 2017
    • 6pm – 8pm 

Breastfeeding Basics:

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends breastfeeding when possible because studies have shown that breastfeeding has a positive impact on an infant’s general health, growth and development and is also very beneficial for health of the mother. This class will share the basics of breastfeeding including what to expect and how to get off to a good start. 

  • Thursday, March 16, 2017
    • 5:15pm – 8:00pm
  • Thursday May 16, 2017
    • 5:15pm – 8:00pm
  • Thursday, July 13, 2017
    • 5:15pm – 8:00pm
  • Thursday, September 14, 2017
    • 5:15pm – 8:00pm
  • Thursday, November 16, 2017
    • 5:15pm – 8:00pm

*(Cost: $25.00) Participants are encouraged to bring support person(s) – (no added fee). 

Newborn Safety:

This class teaches: vehicular safety- proper installation and safety checks related to car seats, the basics of resuscitation for infants (this is not an official CPR certification course), provides basic newborn safety tips. Expectant parents and others who will be providing care for baby are encouraged to attend.

  • Thursday, March 23, 2017
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
  • Thursday, June 1, 2017
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
  • Thursday, August 17, 2017
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
  • Thursday, November 2, 2017
    • 6pm – 8:30pm

*(Cost: $10.00/person or $15.00/couple)

Prepared Childbirth:

Prepared Childbirth Class provides expectant mothers and support persons with information about the last months of pregnancy, the birth process and labor-coping skills, along with information about the maternity hospital stay, early postpartum period and newborn care. All class series include a tour of the Carolinas HealthCare System Cleveland Maternity Unit.

Choose from our one day class:

  • Saturday, March 4, 2017
    • 8am -5pm
  • Saturday, May 6, 2017
    • 8am - 5pm
  • Saturday, July 8, 2017
    • 8am -5pm
  • Saturday, September 9, 2017
    • 8am -5pm
  • Saturday, November 18, 2017
    • 8am - 5pm

*(cost: $65.00/couple)

Or our class series:

Prepared Childbirth:

  • Series 1
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
    • Thursdays, Feb 2, 9, 16, 23
  • Series 2
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
    • Thursdays, May 4, 11, 18, 25 
  • Series 3
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
    • Thursdays, July 20, 27, Aug 3, 10 
  • Series 4
    • 6pm – 8:30pm
    • Thursdays, Oct 5, 12, 19, 26

*(Cost $65.00/couple)

 

*You may choose to enroll for classes individually, or may choose to “bundle” 3 classes for $75.00. CHS employees may attend free with presentation of their own current ID badge. All classes require pre-registration.  Please call 980-487-3983 or send us an email.

Close