Carolinas HealthCare System
Trauma and Surgical Critical Care

What is a Trauma Center?

Trauma Center Levels

A Level I Trauma Center is a hospital that provides the highest level of trauma care available and specializing in the comprehensive diagnosis and treatment for all forms of traumatic injury. Level I is the highest designation given by the American College of Surgeons, which sets the criteria for such credentialing and requires continuous evaluation of the center. A Trauma Center that receives the Level I title is optimally prepared to manage any type of injury 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  This requires that the center has in-house acute care surgeons, designated operating rooms, available CT scanners, trauma accredited nursing staff, surgical critical care, 24/7 blood bank operation and immediately available subspecialists like neurosurgeons and orthopedic trauma surgeons. To maintain this designation, the center must also participate in trauma prevention programs, have a quality outcomes program, and provide a trauma education and research program.  The Trauma Team is comprised of surgeons and advanced practitioners who care for critically ill and injured patients of all ages.

A Level II Trauma Center is a hospital that also provides 24/7 care to all trauma patients, regardless of the type of injury.  Depending on the equipment, space and providers available, as well as the location of the Level II Center, the most severely-injured patients may be transferred to a Level I Trauma Center.

A Level III Trauma Center is a hospital that responds 24/7 to the needs of injured patients and safely transfers severely-injured patients to a Level II or Level I Trauma Center.

Trauma Centers In The Region

  • Level I Trauma Centers
    • Carolinas Medical Center: Charlotte
    • Duke University Medical Center: Durham
    • UNC Hospital: Chapel Hill
    • University Health Systems of Eastern Carolina: Greenville
    • Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center: Winston-Salem
    • WakeMed Health & Hospitals: Raleigh
  • Level II Trauma Centers
    • Mission Hospitals: Asheville
    • Moses Cone Health System: Greensboro
    • New Hanover Regional Medical Center: Wilmington
  • Level III Trauma Centers
    • Carolinas HealthCare System NorthEast: Concord
    • Carolinas HealthCare System Cleveland: Shelby
    • High Point Regional Hospital: High Point

Regional Advisory Committees (RAC): Trauma Centers in North Carolina have Regional Advisory Committees and each hospital in North Carolina is required to be a member of a Trauma RAC.  The committee system provides regulatory oversight in standardization of trauma care and disaster preparedness.  It designates the region for which each center is responsible for providing trauma care to the community. The F.H. "Sammy" Ross Jr. Center at CMC, belongs to the Metrolina Trauma Advisory Committee (MTAC). The NC RAC system map provides a reference for the counties that belong to each RAC in the state, in addition to the region that MTAC serves.

About Carolinas HealthCare System
Who We Are
Community Benefit
Corporate Financial Information
Diversity & Inclusion
Annual Report
Patient Links
Pay Your Bill
Hospital Pre-Registration
Patient Rights
Financial Assistance
Quality & Value Reports
Join Carolinas HealthCare System
Physician Careers

For Employees
Carolinas Connect
Connect with Us
Watch Carolinas HealthCare on YoutubeFollow Carolinas HealthCare on TwitterLike Carolinas HealthCare on FacebookContact Carolinas HealthCareJoin Carolinas HealthCare on LinkedInGo to our mobile website.