Following the conclusion of their residency, many physicians choose Carolinas HealthCare System in Charlotte, NC to further develop their careers as fellows. As one of the largest independent academic medical centers in the nation, our fellowships offer diverse educational experiences, clinical exposure and research opportunities on par with many of the nation’s top university-affiliated fellowship programs. The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) has recognized 11 fellowships at Carolinas HealthCare System in various specialties across the entire continuum of care.

Fellowships at Carolinas HealthCare System range from one- to three-year programs and accept between one and three fellows each year. Applications for most programs are accepted through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS) and most participate in the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP).

The application cycle and criteria for each fellowship program is different. Contact the respective program coordinator with questions.

Currently Offered Fellowships

Cabarrus Family Medicine – Sports Medicine Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Beth Williamson
Phone: 704-721-2063
Email: Beth.Williamson@carolinashealthcare.org

Emergency Medicine – EMS Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Elizabeth Shelton, MLIS
Phone: 704-355-8660
Email: Elizabeth.Shelton@carolinashealthcare.org

Emergency Medicine – Occupational and Disaster Medicine Fellowship
Program Director: David W. Callaway, MD
Phone: 704-355-3744
Email: David.Callaway@carolinashealthcare.org

Emergency Medicine – Research Fellowship
Program Director: Mike Runyon, MD
Phone: 704-355-3152
Email: Michael.Runyon@carolinashealthcare.org

Emergency Medicine – Toxicology Fellowship
Program Director: Christine Murphy, MD
Phone: 704-355-4212
Email: Christine.Murphy@carolinashealthcare.org

Emergency Medicine – Ultrasound Fellowship
Program Director: Anthony J. Weekes, MD
Phone: 704-355-3181
Email: Anthony.Weekes@carolinashealthcare.org

Emergency Medicine – Pediatric Emergency Medicine Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Deborah Venne
Phone: 704-355-7205
Email: Deborah.Venne@carolinashealthcare.org

Geriatric Medicine - 1-year Fellowship
Program Director: Anthony J. Caprio, MD, CMD
Phone: 704-304-7118
Email: GERICoordinator@carolinashealthcare.org

Internal Medicine – Gastroenterology Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Nancy J. Frazier
Phone: 704-355-7479
Email: Nancy.Frazier@carolinashealthcare.org

Internal Medicine - Gastroenterology Fellowship - 4th Year Advanced Endoscopy Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Nancy J. Frazier
Phone: 704-355-7479
Email: Nancy.Frazier@carolinashealthcare.org

Internal Medicine – Hematology/Medical Oncology Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Stephen Balok
Phone: 980-442-6158
Email: Stephen.Balok@carolinashealthcare.org

Internal Medicine – Transplant Hepatology Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Nancy J. Frazier
Phone: 704-355-7479
Email: Nancy.Frazier@carolinashealthcare.org

Obstetrics & Gynecology and Urology: Female Pelvic Medicine & Reconstructive Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Rita Law
Phone: 704-304-1165
Email: Rita.Law@carolinashealthcare.org

Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Patricia Hines
Phone: 704-355-6046
Email: Pat.Hines@carolinashealthcare.org

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Fellowship
Program Coordinator: Elaine Haskell
Phone: 704-355-3814
Email: Elaine.Haskell@carolinashealthcare.org

Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship
Phone: 704-304-7118
Email: SMCoordinator@carolinashealthcare.org

Close